Keely’s Classroom

Last week I took a stab at the one minute commercial assignment for ED7710.  It came out super scripted, and rather lame.  I sound like I read about teaching without actually teaching anyone.  Feel free to watch the first BAD draft here:

Then with some feedback from a mentor, I turned it around and made what I consider to be a pretty accurate reflection of who I am as a teacher.  The new and improved version:

Feel free to comment on which “commercial” you prefer and why.

4 thoughts on “Keely’s Classroom

  1. Needless to say, the two commercials are very different. As a viewer, I prefer the second version because you managed to capture your authentic self. By including statements like: “I want my student to laugh, I want my students to work, I want my students to love it,” you reinforce the idea that are a coach and that you care deeply about your students’ success. I also love the musical element in this version–again, it supports the lighter tone, which reflects the tone of your classroom. I enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Keely,

    Love the commercials! I like the second one more because you seemed less scripted. I like how you talk about wanting your students to laugh and enjoy their learning. I also liked how you refer to allowing them to fail, because when we fail and we figure out what truly went wrong is when we learn the most.

    GREAT JOB!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great work, Keely. I like both videos as it takes courage to put yourself in front of a camera for the world to see; if I had to pick one that represents you the most it would be the second. As others have said, it was less scripted and had great flow. I like how you showed your passionate side when you described how you want your students to view; like a “favorite stuffed animal.” I believe the best teachers are transparent with your students, and you certainly have that trait.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. While you appear very professional in the first video, if I were a student I would want to have the teacher in the second video. You got a lot of information and your passion for teaching into a short time frame. Good for you asking for feedback and listening to it! It is not always easy to get notes on something so personal.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

